Ithaca

Like Ulysses long ago
I have fought, and now I row
Past the cliffs and through the fire
Into the whirlpool of desire

Twenty thousand years have passed
Since you tied me to this mast
You’re the siren, I’m the song
Which drives this ancient boat along

You’re the string and I’m the bow
You’re the dart and I’m the blow
I’m the giant, you’re my sight
I’m the wind and you’re my flight

You’re the fire the fates employ
I’m the burning walls of Troy
You’re the sleeping prince of night
I’m the gloomy northern light

You’re the whisper in my blood
The raging vein that’s now in flood
I’m the sailor roaming far
You’re the shores of Ithaca

September 2009

Leave a Reply

